Hi All

What started out as an informal idea amongst a few friends has got a bit
carried away, and we’d therefore like to invite others to take part in a
co-ordinated birdwatching activity in the Bangalore area this Sunday, 17
February. A few of us thought it would be interesting to spend a day birding
not together but spread out in different habitats, and then see what species
we would have recorded between us all. We decided on a few sites to cover
but gradually introduced more and more, and a few more people. The aim is to
concentrate on thorough and reliable observations, spending as much time at
a site as we think it justifies. Different sites/routes have been allocated
amongst us, and anyone else is welcome to join these on the day. The plan of
approximate routes (with main contacts) is as follows:

North

Hessarghatta area – Sachin Shurpali shurpali@gmail.com

Hebbal Lake, GKVK, Yelahanka, Jakkur, Rampura – James Williams
hornbilljim@gmail.com, Subbu Subramanya subbu.subramanya@gmail.com

Nandi Hills area, Madhure Kere, Hessarghatta – Mike Prince
mike.prince@yahoo.co.uk

East

Hoskote area, Yellamma Lake – Praveen J paintedstork@gmail.com

Sarjapura area – Vijay Ramachandran vijay750@gmail.com

South

Kasavanakunte area – Ullas PA (3rd Sunday Outing)
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/bngbirds/message/24378

Bannerghatta area – Sudhir Naik sudhirsnaik@gmail.com

Kanakpura area – Vinay Das vinay.das@gmail.com, Sree Kumar
sree.kumar.h@gmail.com

West

Ramnagaram area, Nelligudde Kere, Byramangala/Bangalore University – Anush
Shetty anushshetty@gmail.com

Savandurga area, Manchanebele – Dipu Karuthedathu, Jayaram Jahgirdar
dipu.kp@gmail.com

TG Halli area – Vinaya Kumar Thimmappa vinaya.kumar.t@gmail.com, Atanu
Mondal atanumondal@gmail.com

Centre

Lalbagh, Cubbon Park, IISc Campus – MB Krishna krishnamb@gmail.com, Abhijit
Rao Abhijith.Rao@in.ey.com

All these intend to start in the early morning, and most will be full day
sessions. If you are interested in joining one of these groups then please
email the given contact(s) above directly. They will let you know where and
when they plan to be, and you are welcome to find them and join in. Each
group will complete a checklist for each site they visit, with a
concentration on relaxed birding and confirmed identifications. After the
day we’ll consolidate and publish the findings from all checklists.

This wasn’t meant to be such a big thing, but if all goes well we may look
to expand and improve on it in the future.

If you have any questions about it then please email me. Enjoy the day!

Cheers
— Mike —

Record, share and compare with BUBO Listing at http://www.bubo.org/>
www.bubo.org